144-hour Visa-Free Transit Policy is now implemented in Guangdong


144-hour Visa-Free Transit Policy

Since May 1st, 2019, the 144-hour visa-free transit policy has been also implemented in Guangdong province in China for foreign passengers from 53 countries who hold both valid international travel documents and a ticket for a connection to a third country (or region) that will leave within 144 hours of their arrival.

This policy allows foreign passengers to transit in either Beijing-Tianjin-Hebei region, Guangdong province, Liaoning Province, Shanghai-Jiangsu-Zhejiang region, or Chinese cities of Chengdu, Xiamen, Qingdao, Wuhan, and Kunming for no more than 144 hours (6 days) without holding a visa.

Applicable Countries

The 144-hour visa-free transit policy applies to the following countries:
  • American countries: Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Mexico and United States
  • Asian countries: Brunei, Japan, Korea, Qatar, Singapore, and United Arab Emirates
  • Oceania countries: Australia and New Zealand
  • Schengen Agreement countries: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland


In accordance with the provisions of the Ministry of Public Security, a foreign passenger who applies for 144-hour visa free transit in Guangdong must meet the following conditions:
  1. Be a citizen of one of the 53 mentioned countries qualified by the provisions and hold valid international travel documents that identify their nationality;
  2. Hold a ticket for a connection to a third country (or region) that will leave within 144 hours of the passenger's arrival. These may include flight tickets, boat tickets, train tickets, or other relevant certificates;
  3. Be staying within the administrative limits of Guangdong province, and enter through either Guangzhou Baiyun International Airport, Shenzhen Bao'an International Airport, or Jieyang Chaoshan International Airport, and exit through any of the 32 checkpoints in Guangdong province.

Documents Required for a China Transit Visa

  1. Your valid international traveling document (passport)
  2. A third country (region) visa
  3. Complete an entry card (Including your residential address in China)
  4. Air ticket for a connecting flight with confirmed date of flight and seat for a third country (region) leaving China from the landed city or region within 144 hours
144-hour visa-free transit, 144-hour convenient visa, China Transit visa

WINDOOREXPO uses cookies to improve your user experience.

Exhibit Enquiry
Visitor Registration